Easy Tortellini and Spinach Soup

Tortellini and Spinach Soup

This soup seemed so easy to make that I almost didn’t make it. It’s cheating, I thought to myself. I can barely consider it homemade. I certainly couldn’t blog about it. It looked so delicious that I  decided to make it, but I vowed to keep it my own shameful secret.

Though I  can keep a secret, I obviously didn’t want to keep this one! It was so good that my husband and I had to play paper rock scissors to see who got the last bowl. It’s the perfect dinner soup to get you through the winter blahs and to fill your belly with something warm and delicious.

This soup is from my Williams Sonoma soup book, but coincidentally, their blog featured it last week. They use tri-colored tortellini and escarole, but I went the healthier route and used whole wheat tortellini. I also chose spinach over escarole and I really like the texture and flavor of it better.

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 9 ounces fresh tortellini (I use whole wheat tortellini)
  • 1 medium bag of baby spinach leaves (6 to 8 ounces)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 3/4 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese

 Directions:

In a large heavy pot bring the broth and 2 cups water to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to medium, add the tortellini, cover and cook until al dente, 4 to 5 minutes, or according to the package directions.

Meanwhile, coarsely chop the spinach leaves into strips.

When the tortellini are done, add the spinach and season with salt and pepper. Simmer, uncovered, until the spinach soft, about 2 minutes. Serve garnished with the Parmesan.

Leave a Reply

