Single Serving Nutella Cheesecake Cups

I suppose I should be posting something Super Bowl-themed. Something smothered in hot sauce, cheese and/or chili. But that’s the beauty of blogging. It’s not a magazine that’s bound to an editorial calendar and government holiday themes. That being said, I think this dessert could fit nicely into a Super Bowl menu to satisfy your sweet-toothed guests.

My husband’s office has (another) potluck lunch today and I needed something easy, able to be made in mass quantities (20-25), easy to transport and fun to eat. I originally saw this recipe on the My Baking Addiction blog and thought it would be perfect. I was introduced to Nutella last year when I took an Italian class to prepare for my honeymoon to Italy. After being out of school for so long, I had forgotten that one of the perks of a language and culture class was sampling the food! When I saw that this dessert used Nutella, I  had to try it.

If I could describe this dessert in one word, it would be decadent. It’s got texture – the dense cookie crust on the bottom, the whipped nutella, whipped cream and cream cheese in the middle and the crunchy chopped hazelnuts on top. It’s super sweet with the edge and richness of the cream cheese throughout. And it’s almost whimsical with the peaks of whipped cream adding height like the turret of a castle. I used disposable clear plastic cups to serve them in since my husband was taking them to work. I also could see them being served in shooter glasses, those miniature tasting bowls, juice glasses or pretty colored glass votive candle holders (sans the wax, of course). I also think that this is the perfect excuse to buy a set of those mini tasting spoons – so cute! Regardless of the way you serve them, I suggest keeping the serving size on the small side. These little guys are packed with icky sticky, ooey gooey sweetness.

I know because I  had one for breakfast this morning. Have a great weekend and may your Super Bowl pick be victorious!

Ingredients:

For the Crust:

  • 24 Oreo Cookies, crushed into crumbs
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For the Filling:

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/3 cups Nutella
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 (large 16 oz.) tub frozen whipped topping, thawed

For the Garnish:

  • 1 (8 oz.) tub of whipped topping, thawed
  • Toasted, chopped hazelnuts, optional
  • Chocolate shavings, optional

For Serving:

  • Small clear plastic cups or glass bowls
  • Small tasting spoons or plastic spoons

Directions:

In a medium bowl, stir together the crushed Oreo cookie crumbs and melted butter. Evenly divide the crumbs between the individual cups and press into the bottoms of the cups to form the crust layer.

In a large bowl beat the cream cheese and Nutella until smooth. Add the vanilla extract and stir to combine. Then fold in the whipped topping until well blended and no streaks remain.

Evenly pipe or spoon the filling into individual serving dishes (I just used a Ziploc baggie and cut one corner. I liked the thickness of the piping. Bonus: I just tossed the bag in the garbage when I was finished!). Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Pipe whipped topping into each up and sprinkle on the toasted hazelnuts. You also could add chocolate shavings if you have a giant sweet tooth!

4 responses to “Single Serving Nutella Cheesecake Cups

  1. Slow glad to hear you enjoyed these! Have a great weekend.

  2. Got some great suggestions from this post Single Serving Nutella Cheesecake Cups | one fine fork . Thank you for taking the time to offer those thoughts.

  3. Looks so-o-oooo good, and cheesecake for breakfast!!! What a concept. 🙂 Thanks

Leave a Reply

