Honey Mustard for Your Honey

Happy Valentine’s Day! Even though I love all things pink, red, heart-shaped and sparkly, I’m not a huge Valentine’s Day fanatic. Oh, I sent some of my friends and family members the usual handmade Valentines, I’ll be wearing my red scarf all day and I’ll be making a special dinner for my husband tonight, but there will be no table scape dripping with hearts or romantic iPod mix playing in the candlelit background. I know. Perhaps I’m not as fun as you might have thought.

However, this IS a Valentine’s Day post – I swear! Honey mustard holds a special place in my husband’s and my romantic beginning. On our first date, he took me to a Phillies game (well, I guess here in Phoenix it’s considered a Diamondbacks game). The Phillies are my hometown team and I thought it was a great first date idea. We ended up talking through the whole game and he claims that we missed a grand slam because we were so into our conversation. Most of it consisted of him asking me questions about myself. Usual first date stuff. Not surprisingly, many of his questions pertained to food. At one point he leaned in close, looked me in the eye and asked, “How do you feel about honey mustard?” Lucky for me, I absolutely love honey mustard. Lucky for him, too, because as he tells it, this was a deal breaker question. It could be said that a second date and our entire future hinged on my feelings about honey mustard. Obviously I passed the test, but we still laugh about his blunt honey mustard inquiry. He says he was kidding about how important my answer was to him…but I guess we’ll never reallllly know.

In celebration of Valentine’s Day and all things sweet, here is my recipe for homemade honey mustard…the condiment that caught me my honey.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • ½ cup dry mustard
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 ½ cup mayonnaise

Directions:

The night before:

Mix together apple cider vinegar and dry mustard and let stand overnight.

The next day:

Add sugar and eggs into the mustard and vinegar mixture.

Whisk the mixture and bring to a boil until thick.

Cool mixture and add mayonnaise.

Pour into a plastic condiment bottle and keep refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

